Download the final programme here: 7 & 8 March 2018 Programme


  1. Registration
  2. Setting the Scene – Mr Peter Ndoro
  3. South African National Anthem – Ms Andriena Blaauw
  4. Welcome and opening – Executive Mayor of George Municipality, Cllr Melvin Naik
  5. Introduction of Eden DM Executive Mayor – Cllr Mark Willemse, Eden DM Speaker
  6. Address – Eden DM Executive Mayor, Cllr Memory Booysen
  7. Key Note Address from Transnet National Ports Authority – Mr Nico Walters, GM: Strategy
  8. Address by WESGRO, CEO of WESGRO, Mr Tim Harris
  9. Address from the Trade Commissioner, Business Sweden / Signing of Official Letter of Intent – Mr Staffan Arbring and Cllr Memory Booysen


  1. Address from Chinese Business Delegation – Dr Hongbin Cheng
  2. Address from Department of Trade and Industry – Mr Maoto Molefane
  3. Address by Stanlib Economist, Mr Willem Visser
  4. CEO: Centre for Economic Growth and Development – Mr Duma Gqubule
  5. Panel Discussion – Mr Peter Ndoro


Sector Stream Engagements

  1. Integrated Transport and Infrastructure – Facilitators: Mr Geoff Brown, Black Oyster Company, Mr Nico Walters, Transport National Ports Authority
  2. Agri and Timber Economy – Ms Amanda Tshaya, WESGRO and Mr Karl-Heinz Niemand, MTO Forestry
  3. Oil, Gas, Energy and Water – Facilitator: Mr Mark Templeton,  Business Sweden
  4. ICT and IOT (Smart City Concept) – Facilitators: Mr Beverly Pothier (LaserNet) and Mr Alan Otto (LaserNet)
  5. Tourism and Film Industry – Facilitators: Ms Brenda Vorster (Airport Manager, ACSA), Mr Peter Dros, Mr Philip De Vries (Garden Route Film Studios), Ms Chantal Rutter-Dros (Investigative Journalist, News Anchor and Media Coach)
  6. Real Estate and Human Settlements – Facilitator: Mr Gavin Benjamin (Director of Land Management from the Department of Environmental Affairs and Development Planning)
  7. Closing remarks and summary of day’s events – Mr Peter Ndoro

Gala event: George Civic Centre


Proceedings of Day 2 – Programme Director, Mr Paul Hoffman

Address: Mr James Milne, WESGRO

Presentations: Investment Opportunities (Top 10) within municipal areas

  • Bitou
  • George
  • Hessequa
  • Oudtshoorn


  • Knysna
  • Mossel Bay
  • Eden District – Mr Monde Stratu (Eden DM Municipal Manager)

Conference Statement, Mr Monde Stratu (Eden DM Municipal Manager)


Two Parallel Sessions

Session: SMME Export Development
– Export Development Overview – Mr Alex Qunta (SEDA)
– National Youth Development Agency – Mr Sifiso Mtsweni
– WESGRO – Ms Ruby Swiegelaar, Mr Vuyo Geqe
– SEFA – Ms Heidi Le Grange
– Risks and Rewards – Ms Bonny Brink-Lawrence (GBDS Business, Human Capital Development)

Session: Sustainable Solutions for Fresh Water Production, powered by Green Energy and Desalination

Facilitated by Mr Paul Hoffman (SCEP) with a panel discussion between:

  • Dr Staffan Filipsson
  • Ms Joanna Lilliequist – Monsson, Sweden
  • Ms Irina Serghei – Monsson
  • Mr Rashied Toefy – Western Cape Provincial Government
  • Mr James Milne – WESGRO
  • Mr Gerhard Otto – Eden DM Manager Disaster Management
  • Mr Adriaan von Molendorff – SAICE

Vote of thanks – Eden DM Deputy Executive Mayor, Cllr Rosina Ruiters
Official Closing of Conference – Eden DM Executive Mayor, Cllr Memory Booysen

  • Space will be made available for one-on-one business engagements throughout the 2 days.
  • An appointment schedule will be available at the registration desk for business engagements.